So, what is your Calling?

Thoughts Tuesday

People: Yes naman! Ga-graduate ka na, congrats!

You: Oo nga eh. Thank you, ha!

People: Saan mo balak mag work niyan after  grad, at anong klaseng work?

You: (Mapapaisip, kakabahan, mag-iisip pa ng malalim) Ha? Wala pa e, pinagppray ko pa kung saan

Most conversations went like this for a graduating student. It will make us think of our future. We are no teenagers anymore, we are part of another season where God will move and be glorified in another field.

And all at once, I am so busy with school activities and at the same time haunted by the calling that I am to pursue.

As a graduating student, this will ordinarily come up to your mind. It will be like goose bumps and taking a lot of direction just to know where to go. It is finding, looking, and might even be digging down more –for your calling is like a precious treasure and because of course, we all want to obey God and go to wherever field He has called us, right?

You will ask where are you headed onto, you will wonder if you have to pursue your passion or be passionate of what you have to pursue.

I will try to share three steps that I am currently doing while waiting for God’s answer and confirmation about my calling.

  1. Research.

Search for ideas. You might even be pushed to find a good book to be informed. Have a research marathon on the things related with your ideas, a good, informative website will do. But don’t forget the most important input in life— the experiences of the people from that particular field, talk to them and ask for advice and seek more knowledge from them.

2. Do.

While waiting, those ideas or jobs where you think you want to be or the best job that fits you should be practiced. It might be cooking, painting, writing, managing, discipling, mentoring, drafting, or whatever job it is. After doing this, organize your ideas by weighing which is which. Which is that thing that you are really good at but doesn’t make you really happy and vice versa. And come up with a list that shows the level of everything.

3. Pray.

Nothing beats talking to the One who planned your future. I believe that He answer us specifically. It is just our clouded mind, all mixed-up ideas, and pressure that make it hard for us to hear his voice.

As Jeremiah 29:11-14 says, For I know the plans I have for you, declares the LORD, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope. Then you will call upon me and come and pray to me, and I will hear you. You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart. I will be found by you, declares the LORD, and I will restore your fortunes and gather you from all the nations and all the places where I have driven you, declares the LORD, and I will bring you back into the place from which I sent you into exile.

There is a plan waiting for us, a really really good plan. Hoping that together, we’ll gonna seek Him more than ever.

Any other thoughts about this, recommended book or blog, an additional step, or a short story on how you answered your calling? Comment down below. 

Thanks for reading!

Mica ❤

2 thoughts on “So, what is your Calling?

  1. Keziah

    Hello! I’m a graduating student too 🙂 And yeah, I’m having a hard time thinking what my future will be or what I’ll be doing after grad. Honestly, minsan mapapaisip na lang ako, “shocks, hindi ko pa pala talaga alam anong gagawin ko after…” and it’s kinda hard not knowing what you want to pursue 😦 But you’re right, one of the best things to do is to seek Him and pray harder. We may not be sure about anything but He sure knows everything so we should trust and believe that He’ll give the best for us 🙂 I also learned that God would gladly grant the dreams that are planted in our hearts. ❤ God bless you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Michaella Casta

      Yes. The feels noh!? 😀 If it is God’s will for us, then it will be done! Faithful naman si God e, He will never fail us. Ang goal natin ngayon ay maging certain sa gusto natin talagang gawin. We didn’t spend almost 4 years of studying for nothing. God bless sa pagsi-seek! Expect an answer, a really really clear answer Keziah!!! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

